On Reading

After finishing high school, I had developed a hate relationship with reading books, as a result of the forced readings endured during those years. I continued in that same direction through most of my college (undergraduate and graduate) years, and the first year of my professional career. Little did I know that all of that was about to change. It was a cold day in Boston, and I was with our company’s recruitment team visiting MIT. On one of our afternoon trips, we passed by a local bookstore and one of my esteemed colleagues, Dexter, suggested I buy and read The Goal by Eliyahu M. Goldratt. I didn’t want to say no, so I decided to buy it and read it during my trip back to Toronto. Shortly after I started reading this book, I couldn’t take it out of my hands. It was full of lessons on process improvement, hidden in a story format. It didn’t take me long before I finished reading it, and I must say this book has changed my life ever since.

I soon realized, how much learning and knowledge I was missing out on that can be very beneficial for me both in my professional and personal life. Reading has become my favorite activity ever since, with subjects ranging from business, finance, economics, leadership technology etc. It has provided me with numerous new perspectives, that have enabled me to boost my career development by giving me exposure to others’ experiences, knowledge and learnings.

If you are looking to getting back into reading or picking up the habit, I hope you find my below top 5 books as a source of inspiration:

1- The Goal – Eliyahu M. Goldratt (Process Improvement)

2- The Shock Doctrine – Naomi Klein (Politics/Economics)

3- The Big Short – Michael Lewis (Economics)

4- Smartest Guys in the Room –  Bethany McLean and Peter Elkind (Energy/Business)

5- The Long Tail – Chris Anderson (Economics)

Happy Reading! I will add more recommendations in a future posting, stay tuned!

Regards,

Omar Halabieh

P.S: Thanks Dexter for the inspiration!

2 comments

  1. Omar, thanks for always seeking and sharing knowledge and insight! You have inspired us more than you know. I’m now a big fan of this blog!

Leave a Reply

