On Wikipedia

A few years ago, I was tasked with a work assignment to perform fundamentals analysis around Natural Gas Storage. This was part of a two month rotation within our Gas Trading team in Calgary. Coming from an IS background, this is an area that I had very limited knowledge in.

My strategy was to research online, namely on public sites by different utility and energy commissions across Canada and the US as well as mining historical fundamentals data. I started by researching Natural Gas Storage: types, owners, locations and distributions, regulation and deregulation etc.  I then went on to study the effect Natural Gas Storage has on Natural Gas Prices and vice versa. As one would think, storage injections and withdrawals send significant price signals on the price of the underlying commodity.

Having spent considerable effort in the preliminary research above, I thought about how I can document these findings in a way that others can have access to it. I looked around the office, and noticed that the majority of my colleagues used Wikipedia to perform research.  I then decided to post my work as two articles: Natural Gas Storage (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Natural_gas_storage) and Natural Gas Prices (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Natural_gas_prices).

Fast forward to today, I was checking the stats on these sites and was amazed that on a daily basis, these two sites have an average of combined viewer-ship of 400-700/day! When I think about the impact these articles have made and the time invested in publishing them, this must have been one of my best time investments. Nowadays, I actively look out for opportunities to contribute to Wikipedia and am a firm believer of Wikinomics (Don Tapscott and Anthony Williams).

Regards,

Omar Halabieh

Leave a Reply

